Disable All Advertising
Image
EAN-139780060802967   EAN-13 barcode 9780060802967
Product NameThe Wapshot Chronicle (Perennial Classics)
LanguageEnglish
CategoryBook / Magazine / Publication
Short DescriptionPaperback
Amazon.comA Buy on Amazon ~ 0060528877
SKU903012884
Price New5.99 US Dollars    (curriencies)
Price Used1.00 US Dollars    (curriencies)
Width0.83 inches    (convert)
Height8 inches    (convert)
Length5.31 inches    (convert)
Weight10.24 ounces    (convert)
AuthorJohn Cheever
Page Count368
BindingPaperback
Published06/28/2011
FeaturesGreat product!
Long DescriptionWhen The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle , which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist. Based in part on Cheever’s adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses’ adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.
Similar Items9780141184166: Modern Classics Anna Of Five Towns (Penguin Modern Classics)
9780460876537: Anna of the Five Towns: A Novel (Classic Reprint)
9781434100306: Anna Of The Five Towns
9780140055757: The Stories Of John Cheever
9781600962066: Anna Of The Five Towns
9781857548921: Parade's End
9781419195549: Zuleika Dobson
9781440053863: Zuleika Dobson (Classic Reprint)
9781420930924: Main Street
9781177117111: Zuleika Dobson
9780375753145: Main Street (Modern Library)
9781470069131: Zuleika Dobson
9780791461501: The Devil's Pool and Other Stories (Suny Series, Women Writers in Translation)
9780340545720: Spartina
9780060916275: A High Wind In Jamaica
9780486406558: Main Street (Dover Thrift Editions)
9781149119792: Main Street: The Story Of Carol Kennicott
9781140353126: Main Street: The Story Of Carol Kennicott
9781860464973: High Wind In Jamaica (Panther)
9780307744203: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780940322158: A High Wind in Jamaica
9780060830991: A High Wind in Jamaica
9780375701962: The Moviegoer
9780439059466: The Ginger Man
9780802144669: The Ginger Man
9780763597184: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780141186610: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780582471047: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780375702686: Spartina
9781840227192: Parade's End (Wordsworth Classics)
9780140541588: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780548448809: Parade's End (Vintage Classics)
9780449911655: Rabbit, Run
9780141188553: Rabbit, Run
9780141188546: Rabbit, Run
9780141188447: Rabbit, Run
9780140144604: Rabbit, Run
9780099504917: Rabbit, Run
9780099183013: Rabbit, Run
9780394483467: The World Of Apples
9780141187853: Falconer (Penguin Classics)
9781144518651: Cheever: A Life
9780394513348: Oh What A Paradise It Seems
9780099748304: Collected Stories
9780307387257: The Journals Of John Cheever (Vintage International)
9780394572741: The Journals Of John Cheever
9780805060171: From Here To Eternity
9780416781502: From Here To Eternity
9780820316611: Tobacco Road: A Novel (Brown Thrasher Books Ser.)
9781400079681: Cheever: A Life
9780385333641: From Here To Eternity
9780224029308: Oh What A Paradise It Seems
9781400043941: Cheever: A Life
9780679737865: Falconer
9780099791812: Falconer
9780007301584: The Stories Of John Cheever
9780060528881: The Wapshot Scandal (Perennial Classics)
9780375724428: The Stories Of John Cheever
9780394500874: The Stories Of John Cheever
9780679737858: Oh What A Paradise It Seems
9780679737872: Bullet Park
9780099275282: Wapshot Scandal
Created09-22-2012 3:10:39am
Modified04-30-2020 3:02:30pm
MD549216fd8d9d965448ab182c2f42825bd
SHA2567e6c3371b25c949c142464374e023b1457107ed9e15ae28cbeb14fcd4f1d84c2
Search Googleby EAN or by Title
Query Time0.1367750

Article of interest

This symbology was developed by the Plessey Company in England. A variation of Plessey was used by the ADS Company and is known as Anker Code. Anker Code was used in European point of sale systems prior to the advent of EAN. Another variation is known as the MSI Code.

Plessey offers a full range of HEX digits 0-F. The bit pattern of the bits sets the high order bit at the right which is reverse of how we normally think of bits these days. (MSI puts the high order bit on the left).

The start bar is always "D" (1101) and the terminator can be two binary 1's (11) if the barcode is to be read from left to right only. If the barcode can be read in either direction the terminator will be a single binary 1 (1) and is followed by a reverse of the start character or the "B" (1011).

Digit Strip Bits Binary Value
0 100100100100 0000
1 110100100100 1000
2 100110100100 0100
3 110110100100 1100
4 100100110100 0010
5 110100110100 1010
6 100110110100 0110
7 110110110100 1110
8 100100100110 0001
9 110100100110 1001
A 100110100110 0101
B 110110100110 1101
C 100100110110 0011
D 110100110110 1011
E 100110110110 0111
F 110110110110 1111
START 110110100110 1101
STOP > 110110 11
STOP < > 110110100110110 11011

You can use the stripe bits can be used to generate the graphic pattern. If you want to see this trick, check out the MSI Code page. Plessey uses a cyclic (or polynomial) check code technique which is applied to the reading of barcode labels and transmission of data. This technique is a fair compromise between the extra redundancy and the error detecting power. Roughly one undetected error per hundred million 6 digit transactions.

If you would like to generate your own Plessey Barcode, please visit our free barcode generator page. Make your code, save it and use it how ever you like.

Close

Search

Close

Share