Image
EAN-139780060560768   EAN-13 barcode 9780060560768
Product NameMusic Of The Mill: A Novel
LanguageEnglish
CategoryBook / Magazine / Publication
Short DescriptionHardcover, 2005
Amazon.comA Buy on Amazon ~ 0060560762
Price New3.99 US Dollars    (curriencies)
Price Used1.05 US Dollars    (curriencies)
Width1.05 inches    (convert)
Height9 inches    (convert)
Length6 inches    (convert)
Weight19.68 ounces    (convert)
AuthorLuis J. Rodriguez
Page Count320
BindingHardcover
Published04/26/2005
Long Description

In a stunning literary achievement -- with a power and scope in the tradition of John Steinbeck and Theodore Dreiser -- Luis J. Rodriguez captures the soul of a community and a little-known era in America's history in his epic novel about love, family, workers' rights, industrial strife, and cultural dislocation.

When the Salcido family departs for the United States, their flight is hardly different from the journeys of the indigenous tribes who roamed America for tens of thousands of years, or immigrants who sailed across entire oceans, or countless others who have left their native lands behind for the promise of a better life.

Traveling mostly on foot, Procopio Salcido and his future wife, Eladia, leave Mexico for the United States to escape the bleak realities of their homeland.

Finally settling in Los Angeles, the young couple discover that the hopes they have for their children must now be weighed against the backdrop of the mighty Nazareth steel mill, their engine for survival, which will eventually become the lifeblood of their own American dream.

Spanning sixty years and three generations, Music of the Mill is set in the industrial boom of post–World War II Southern California, where jobs seemed plentiful, communities thrived, and racial harmony prevailed. However, while postwar prosperity seemed to supply jobs to many migrant African American, Mexican, and poor white workers, in reality there was great struggle and racial discord -- low-paying, backbreaking labor and the cruel manipulation by manufacturers who pitted groups of workers against one another.

For the Salcidos -- especially for Procopio's idealistic son, Johnny, and his young family -- the hard knocks of life often resound louder than their own sense of hope. When their aspirations have long since lost their luster, retaining their dignity and sense of worth becomes the family's greatest challenge.

Destined to be a classic of American literature, Music of the Mill, the long-awaited first novel by Luis J. Rodriguez, portrays the journey of one family caught in a web of politics, racial polarization, and corrupt unions' power struggles, revealing the drama, pain, joy, and humor of working-class life.

Similar Items9780557310043: A Brief History Of Neoliberalism
9780333536605: A Brief History Of Neoliberalism
9780275935658: A Brief History Of Neoliberalism
9780199283279: A Brief History Of Neoliberalism
9780192807083: A Brief History Of Neoliberalism
9781595587862: Back To School: Why Everyone Deserves A Second Chance At Education
9780933377509: Writing The Memoir: From Truth To Art, Second Edit
9780826304698: The Surrounded (Zia Book) (Zia Books)
9780802139085: A Place To Stand
9780316019101: Crow Planet: Essential Wisdom From The Urban Wilderness
View 7 more similar items
Created03-30-2012 1:05:00am
Modified05-08-2017 4:11:52am
MD59f5765740dc710b81c8c7f5fefe06438
SHA25610f91ab2b00b6bb4067cff91d65233810d0703bcb5074baf45de6cb883b752f4
Search Googleby EAN or by Title
Query Time0.0199192

Article of interest

People have mentioned that they had some issues in creating the tables needed to import the data. We added build scripts to the data downloads that should make that easier if you are using MySQL, MS SQL Server or Oracle.

Simply unzip your data download as you normall would. In the folder you will find scripts that can help you build the tables that you then import the data to.

Hopefully, this will make the import process a lot easier for you. You still need to add indexes and foreign keys if you like. The scripts are intended to get the data into your database where you may want to transfer it to other tables or otherwise massage it. So we did not add any indexing or foreign keys to these scripts assuming the tables are only temporary.

Close

Search

Close

Share

Close

Dialog